The Town Council


The Town Council is made up of 15 Councillors who are elected every four years. The most recent election took place in May 2023, with the next due to take place in May 2027.

The Town Mayor and the Deputy Town Mayor are elected by their fellow Councillors each year at the Annual Statutory Meeting of the Council, which is held in May.

At the same meeting, Councillors decide which Committees they will sit on for the coming year and who will be the Council’s Representatives to Outside Bodies.

All Council meetings are held in the Council Chamber, on the first floor of the Civic Centre and are open to the public.

Agendas are available to the public before the meetings, as is a legal requirement. They can be found on notice boards throughout the town and on the Council’s website.

At all Town Council meetings, members of the public are free to attend and are allowed to address Councillors on items on the agenda, at the discretion of the Chair of each meeting.


The Council Offices


The Council Offices are situated on the first floor of the Civic Centre, and are open Monday to Thursday 9.00am – 5.00pm, and Friday 9.00am to 4.00pm.

Civility and Respect Pledge Council badgeRural Market Town Group Badge

Civic Centre in the snow

Responsive site designed and developed by